The Constitutional Assembly (CA) tasked with drafting a new constitution for Libya convened its 47 members at Al Beida, where Libya’s first constitution was drafted in 1952. The CA voted Ali Tarhuni, founder of the National Centrist Party and former National Transition Council minister, as its head. The CA would have, however, to wait for the election of the remaining 13 members representing the constituencies where elections could not be held last February, due to the boycott by the Amazigh and Tebou, or ongoing violence. The Higher National Elections Commission (HNEC) re-opened registration last Thursday, April 24, for the thirteen vacant seats, in Murzuk, Kufra, Obari, etc., but the Amazigh Supreme Council stated in a Statement early April that it would continue to boycott elections.

Posted by Editor